• Frank Son

Is Claritin Vegan?

Generally, 3 out of 4 oral products contain animal derived ingredients. It becomes an arduous task to find over-the-counter (OTC) or prescription pharmaceuticals and supplements that are completely animal-free. Here at VeganMed, we are regularly asked about animal-free allergy medications, specifically we are asked whether Claritin is vegan.


According to the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America, more than 50 million people in the US experience allergies each year. There are several OTC antihistamines and homeopathic medications available to relive allergy symptoms.


What is in Claritin (loratadine)?

Claritin is an antihistamine medication used for temporary relief of allergy symptoms such as runny nose, sneezing, itching, rashes, hives, and watery eyes. It selectively blocks the H1 receptors in the body which are activated during an allergic reaction.


Claritin is the brand name for loratadine. Many Claritin or loratadine products can have different inactive ingredients. Depending on the company, some of the inactive ingredients in loratadine products could contain animal-derived ingredients such as gelatin, lactose, or magnesium stearate.


Animal-Free Claritin (loratadine)

VeganMed has verified with the manufacturer the below product as being animal-free:


Children’s Claritin Allergy Syrup

Vegan Friendly Claritin (loratadine) for Allergies

Unfortunately none of the other Claritin (loratadine) products are vegan friendly based on our current knowledge of their ingredients:


Claritin (loratadine) only products:

  • Liquid-Gels 24 Hour 10 mg Not Vegan Friendly (contains Gelatin)

  • Adult Redi-Tabs 24 hours 10 mg Not Vegan Friendly (contains Gelatin)

  • Adult Redi-Tabs 12 Hour 5 mg Not Vegan Friendly (contains Gelatin)

  • Junior’s Redi-Tabs 24 Hour 10 mg Not Vegan Friendly (contains Gelatin)

  • Junior’s Redi-Tabs 12 Hour 5mg Not Vegan Friendly (contains Gelatin)

Claritin-D [Loratadine (Antihistamine) + Pseudoephedrine (Nasal decongestant)] products:

  • 12 Hour Tablets Not Vegan Friendly (contains Lactose)

  • 24 Hour Tablets Not Vegan Friendly (contains Lactose)

Similar Products: Some people also derive benefits from these other verified animal-free products: e.g. Allegra, Zyrtec, Genexa Allergy Care. If you can’t find something, contact us and we can work with our compounding pharmacies to possibly make you an animal-free product.

If you like what we are doing...

  1. Then please contact us with your comments and let us know if you support the use of our independent Animal Free Certification on medications and supplements.

  2. Sign this petition encouraging clear labeling of medications and supplements.


Research credit: Angelica Marquez


DISCLAIMER: VeganMed, Inc. does not promote the use or disuse of medications, and we do not assume liability for particular treatment decisions. All medical decisions should be made after seeking the guidance of your doctor, including discussions of any associated risks. We try our best to ensure the accuracy of our information but cannot guarantee it. We strive to provide you with valuable information so you can make the right decisions for your health and lifestyle.


References:


1. Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America. https://www.aafa.org/allergy-facts/. Accessed April 14, 2021.

2. https://www.claritin.com/ Accessed: 04/28/21

Looking for certified and verified animal-free products?

Browse animal-free products on our online marketplace!

Want to learn more?

Check out VeganMed's Animal Ingredients list!

Thank you for your awareness and concern for animal-derived ingredients!

If you have any further questions about ingredients in your medicines and supplements, feel free to reach out to the VeganMed team!

#GoAnimalFree #allegra #allergies #veganmedication #claritin #genexa

87 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All